Home > babble, humor, opinion, Random, rants, useless babble > Romancing The Dogs and Memory Foam Slippers

Romancing The Dogs and Memory Foam Slippers

swbtwitterHere is some advice to the gents out there … if you want to seem romantic to your wife, bring home some memory foam slippers.

I stop every once in a while at a store near our house and occasionally buy my wife a small gift – a nice smelling candle, slippers, cute figurine, etc.  It makes her happy – and thus, makes me happy.  We’ve been married a little under a year now, and so far the romance part of the deal has been fairly easy because there hasn’t been much competition.

In step the dogs.

Our dogs obviously noticed that the new slippers made my wife happy and relaxed.  When she was on the couch watching TV with me (actually napping), both dogs carefully positioned themselves to cuddle with her.  The one dog, a basenji is actually smart enough to know how to “hug” a little bit and proceeded to suck up with that technique.  Our less intelligent boxer mix just does it’s best to look cute.  Every time I tried to get closer to my wife, they snuggled more.

My dogs were actually competing against me for romancing my wife.

This seemed a little strange.

Of course, my wife was snoring by this time and really didn’t care … but I did.  Do you have any idea what it does to the shallow part of a guy’s ego when dogs start getting jealous for his wife’s attention? Sorry folks, but inter-species love is just not my thing.

I was a little hurt too, considering my one dog was with me for eight years before even meeting my wife.  I buy all of the dog’s food also …. geez. It’s amazing how two little animals can make you feel like Rodney Dangerfield.

-SWB

PS – Contrary to popular belief, I don’t want to know what my dogs have to say 🙂

  1. May 14, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    you’re making life tough on the rest of us husbands, you know

  2. LJ
    May 14, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    Nice try with the, “We’ve been married a little under a year now”. Acording to your blogs you have been married for 6 months. You’re still on your honeymoon! Just wait, it gets better!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

