Home > babble, humor, opinion, Pittsburgh, rants, sports > The Pirates Are Striving (for a 17th losing season)

The Pirates Are Striving (for a 17th losing season)

pncparksceneI’ve some to like the scene to the left – PNC Park in twilight, even though I’m still a little irked about having to pay for part of it. It does look pretty, and attracts attention to the city – until you get closer. What do you see when you get closer? The Pirates. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m all for supporting our sports teams … but at least the other ones try a little. The Steelers definitely give it their all. The Penguins at least give a good show no matter if they win or not.

You see, I had the joy of watching the Pirates around 1976, and even meeting some of them. The were great role models, they played the games well, they loved the sport. I’m not entirely sure what the current Pirates aspire to be, but I’m hoping it is a better team than their minor league counter-part (or at least better than a pee wee team).

I’m not asking for all-out wins here – just some consistency. I’m not looking for perfection – just someone that looks like they can actually hit a ball. I’m not looking for heroes here – just a player that can maybe run a little. I think I’m not asking for much more than Pittsburghers would like to see also.

Ho hum … oh well, dreams are dreams – and the Pirates are the Pirates.

Anyway – articles for yinz:

From Dejan Kovacevic of The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

and Rob Biertempfel of The Tribune-Review

Or course Click Here for The Pittsburgh Pirates Web Site.

-SWB

PS – Pirates fan, “The glove, the glove …. catch the ball IN THE GLOVE ……. awww, come on ….”

  1. April 6, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    I long for those glory days in the 60s under Danny Murtaugh

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

