Home > business, cool stuff, FYI, Pittsburgh, SouthSide > Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh finally open!! Beer Connoisseurs applaud!

Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh finally open!! Beer Connoisseurs applaud!

hbcaptureCapture from Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh website – click to go there

We’ve been waiting for it (for a long time), but it’s here – Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh. It is one of only three in the nation and will be brewing beer to the German Purity Law, Reinheitsgebot. In layman’s term, that basically means it’s really good.

Make sure you get the Hofbräuhaus pretzels and bier cheese – a very big tradition.

We’ll be down there to review the place, but we have experienced the site in Newport On The Levee in Kentucky …. and it was perfect. It took me back to the weekend dinners we had at my Grandma’s house (the German side of the family), and instantly reminded me of the vintage pictures my Grandfather had of the old beer halls in Germany when he lived there.

Check out the HB Pittsburgh website, and the WPXI article on the opening.

The new HB site is in SouthSide Works.

Update: Click here for a more detailed article on the opening from the Post-Gazette. Also check out the article from the PG on beer hall etiquette featuring Eckhard Kurbjuhn (the German brewmaster at Haufbrauhaus-Pittsburgh)

-SWB

PS – For those new to German Beers (real ones), then tend to be strong – so if you are planning on drinking more than two bring a designated driver and a digital camera so your friends can catch a snapshot of you turning various shades of green. If you get a few good snaps – send ‘em in, we’ll post them here :-)

  1. Corey
    June 30, 2009 at 5:17 pm | #1

    Reinheitsgebot definitely does not guarantee good beer. Their lager was on par with PBR. And for a dunkel to be as flavorless as their’s is… no excuse. I’ll give them another shot…I like the atmosphere, and hope they succeed. But for a beer garden to have such mediocre (borderline BAD) beer. No excuse.

    • SWB
      July 1, 2009 at 12:49 pm | #2

      I’ll disagree on that, but everyone has a right to his/her opinion. If you were a true beer lover, you would have never lowered yourself to even know what PBR tastes like to be able to make the comparison.

      -SWB

    • KS
      February 11, 2012 at 9:12 pm | #3

      Too bad you don’t care for it. Oh well….more for me! LOL! Go have a PBR!

  2. Nantz
    July 27, 2009 at 6:44 pm | #4

    I had an opportunity to visit the Hofbrauhaus at the Southside Works this past Saturday, my twin brothers are turning 50 next week so we thought we’d go celebrate in the manner of our “people”. Except for a few road closures in the Southside, 27th & 28th streets, it was easy to find, but I didn’t know in advance that I would have to park at a garage. I’m hoping the big expanse of dirt to the right of the building will become a parking lot. There was a big line of people waiting to get inside and it further my anticipation of an enjoyable experience. Since my family was already there I walked in to look for them and was hit by all the loudness of the place, it is incredibly uncomfortably LOUD! I couldn’t immediately find my family so I called on my cell phone but had to go outside to be able to hear. My brother came for me and brought me back to a table located in an enclosed more quiet area of the restaurant for which I was grateful. The waitress immediately noticed I was someone new at the table and took my drink order. I ordered a light beer as the more bitter pungent German beer is not to my taste. I had downloaded the menu online in advance and had an idea of what I wanted for my dinner. I ordered the Mettwurst which came with mashed potatoes and sauerkraut. The service was extremely fast and friendly! The waitresses were all dressed in German peasant attire and looked great, it added an authentic plus to the atmosphere. My mettwurst was hot and good, but, and this is a big “but”, the sauerkraut was a big disappointment. Having been raised my whole life eating sauerkraut I found it to be much too sweet, I’m guessing it was mixed with some sort of apple concoction to counter the acid. I prefer the more aggressive brazen in-your-face unadulterated sauerkraut in its purest tangiest form, that’s what I’m used to. My family has always made our own sauerkraut and canned it, nothing added, fermenting to an acidic goodness. I was surprised not to see hassenpfeffer on the menu and maybe because it is a more heartier meal for the Fall/Winter months or because the thought of having rabbit stew may be a turnoff to some. Not as if there isn’t an abundance of rabbits available! I can remember my grandfather, who immigrated from Germany, shooting rabbits out his bedroom window and my grandmother soaking said rabbits in a big yellow Pyrex bowl filled with salt water. Hassenpfeffer was like their Dinty Moore beef stew they made it so often they could’ve canned and sold it. Our table was right beside a large glass partition where we could see the huge tanks and workings of the onsite brewery, very ominous. All in all, it was a pleasant experience, save for the noise, and I would probably want to go back on a less busier day of the week. Be forewarned, Saturday night is teeming with people, and, you will need to park on the street if your are lucky enough to find a spot or park in a garage.

    • SWB
      July 28, 2009 at 1:05 pm | #5

      Consider one thing though with HB here …. it’s in America. I also grew up with the same dishes you describe, but knowing what they taste like I do realize that HB probably Americanized it’s dishes a bit. If they didn’t, most people would have said “yuck” the first time they tasted some of the bitterness if the German foods. You have to remember, here in America, we are not used to the true ethnic tastes of food from other countries.
      Think “Pizza” – the other side of my family is from Italy. What we serve her isn’t even close, and when it is served correctly, it’s usually turned back to the kitchen because the patron thinks it was made wrong, etc.

  3. Nantz
    July 29, 2009 at 8:09 pm | #6

    I agree with your comment about the food being Americanized, however, there is a large population of German ancestory here in Pittsburgh and maybe they could offer a choice between the more authentic sauerkraut and the wimpy one. Also, in the research I have found regarding Hofbrauhaus I understand they fly in the pretzels and apple strudel from Germany because those particular foods are not in par here in America by their high standards. Similarly, the brewery is carefully scrutinized by representatives from the Hofbrauhaus in Germany who require the recipes are followed to the letter. If the idea is to have an authentic German restuarant in Pittsburgh spawned from the “mother” restaurant then let it be authentic, and those who do not have the palate for German food can order the American choices offered on the menu.

  4. KS
    February 11, 2012 at 9:09 pm | #7

    I visited the Pittsburgh location yesterday for lunch. One word…AWSOME! My husband and I ate at the Munich location in March of 2011. We were also in Berlin and Hamburg. Needless to say, we adore authentic German food. The Hofbrauhaus is STRICT that their standards are followed no matter what location. Their food is not Americanized, perhaps the reviewers on this site are not the German cuisine experts they claim to be. Before ripping on this great place (of course it’s loud! IT’S A BEER HALL!!!!), do a little research on the food and culture before you try it. But don’t knock it because it doesn’t taste like the food that your German/American grandmother served! That’s just silly!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

